Committee on Church & Ministry A (COCAM A) Report to 2020 Southwest Conference Annual Meeting October 2020- March 2021

Committee Members

Rev. Gail Joralemon, Chair Rev. Derrick Elliott, Chair Elect Chris Sternberg, Secretary Rev. Brady Abel

Rev. Brady Abel Rev. Jim Alexander Lynn Brightman Rev. Dean Hokel Mary Martin Martha Phillips Stan Roberts Rev. Jay Wilcher

Lorraine Young

Report from the Chair of COCAM A, The Rev. B. Gail Joralemon

We take very seriously our role in authorizing, supporting, and holding authorized persons accountable on behalf of the entire United Church of Christ. We continue to wrestle with issues of theology and practice/policy as they relate to our actions. Among issues we wrestled with since October: liturgical garb and ordination, membership in local church for licensed ministers, the meaning and enactment of UCC identity for clergy, Clinical Pastoral Education certification sources, the UCC as refuge vs. the UCC as spiritual home, and provision of Boundary Training and Racism training for clergy. New issues arise that affect our deliberation about fitness reviews and ordination; policies affecting authorized ministers and Members in Discernment are reviewed.

COCAM A, when fully staffed, comprises 12 clergy and laypersons from all areas of the Conference. The Associate Conference minister is designated to work most closely with the committee; the Conference Minister meets with and advises the committee as needed.

Our work includes the care and development of Members in Discernment, their Discernment committees, ordination determination and review of licensed/commissioned ministers. In this work, we represent the entire UCC. When an issue arises between an authorized minister and a congregation, this committee determines whether COCAM-B is the appropriate site for a Situational Support Consultation or a Fitness Review is required of COCAM-A.

COCAM A acted on behalf of the Southwest Conference and the wider church by taking the following actions:

Current Members in Discernment

Shea Darian – Church of the Palms – Sun City (approved for an Ecclesiastical Council, May 2)

Chris Wickersham - First Church - Phoenix

 $And rew\ Ponder-Williams-Desert\ Palm\ -Tempe$

Alice Goss: Desert Garden – Sun City West

(We have six more just beginning the process of working with their local churches.)

Ecclesiastical Council Approval for Ordination (pending call)

Carson Hawks, First Church Phoenix Kelly Kahlstrom, Desert Palm UCC/Rincon UCC

Ordination:

1/24 /2021 Debby Stinton

Transfers of <u>Ordained Ministerial Standing from the Southwest Conference</u>:

10/2020 Jim Cunningham – to Living Water Assoc, Ohio Conference 3/2021 Debby Stinton -Southwest Ohio/Northern Kentucky Association, Heartland Conference

Transfers of Ordained Ministerial Standing to the Southwest Conference

10/2020 Judy Holcomb – from SE Assoc, Iowa Conference 11/2020 Bethany Meier – from Missouri Mid-South Conf 1/2021 Donald Riemer – from Chicago Metropolitan Assoc, IL Conf.

Commissioning:

1/2021 Commissioned Ministry Renewal Gordon Street, First Church, Phoenix

Lay Ministerial Standing:

11/2020 Jane (Cheek) Jones, serving as bridge minister, First Congregational - Flagstaff

Granted Exempt Standing:

1/2021 Sandi Britton

Accountability:

Fitness review with an outcome of Censure with a Program of Growth prescription for the Rev. Jeanna Kozak

Termination of Licensed Ministry following withdrawal of Tombstone Community Church from the United Church of Christ: Butch Sliker

Resigned Ordained Ministerial Standing:

The Rev. Jeanna Kozak

Deaths:

11/9/2020 the Rev. Glen Larson, Yuma UCC 1/13/2021 the Rev. Dosia Carlson, Beatitudes Church 1/17/2021 The Rev. Robert Koth, First Church – Phoenix 2/11/2021 the Rev. Art Ellersieck, Desert Garden UCC

Significant ordination anniversaries marked by SWC clergy in 2021:

5 years (2016)

The Rev. Derrick Elliot

The Rev. Bonnie McNair

The Rev. Deris Rice

The Rev. Tracy Howe Wispelwey

10 years (2011)

The Rev. Teresa Blythe The Rev. Cindy Parker

20 years (2001)

The Rev. Susan Gaffney

The Rev. Pamela Hines

The Rev. Cari Jackson

The Rev. Tom Martinez

The Rev. Rebecca Morgan

The Rev. Susan Princehouse

The Rev. Alberta Wallace

25 years (1996)

The Rev. Bill Guise

30 years (1991)

The Rev. Paul Whitlock

40 years (1981)

The Rev. Dr. Patricia StandTal Clarke

The Rev. Dean Hokel

50 years (1971)

The Rev. Jim Fredette The Rev. Jim Scovil

Policies October 2020-March 2021

11-9-2020: The Committee voted to rename the "Seminarian Fund" to the "MID Support Fund" and COCAM-A would be responsible for managing the use of that fund.

Submitted by The Rev. B. Gail Joralemon, Chair, Committee on Church and Ministry-A