Mission & Church Vitality Committee

 

Brief description of duties:

The Mission and Church Vitality Committee (MCVC) has the responsibility for:

  • celebrating what's working in our congregations;

  • encouraging one another to go beyond our comfort zones;

  • supporting one another in our advocacy;

  • listening to and appreciating our differing perspectives;

  • discovering new ways to address our common and differing challenges; and

  • advising the Executive Board regarding the mission of the Conference.

  • undertaking an annual evaluation to discern both whether or not that mission is in keeping with the call of the Holy Spirit in our time, and whether or not that mission maintains our relevance as an agent of transformation.  

  • ensuring that every available resource, all covenant partnerships, and all entities created by the Conference are being utilized to enhance, ensure, and enable the mission of the Conference.  

It will be comprised of a representative from every church in the Conference, the officers of the Conference, and any SWC representative serving the National structure of the Church.

Meets at least twice a year.

 

Resources

Slides from Oct. 2016 meeting

Millennial Giving Playbook

Oct. 2016 Handouts

 

Officers of the SWC:

Moderator, Ms. Liana Rowe, Shadow Rock UCC, Phoenix, AZ
Treasurer, Mr. Phil Ward, First Congregational UCC, Phoenix, AZ
Secretary, Ms. Karen Richter, Shadow Rock UCC, Phoenix, AZ
Moderator Elect (2019), Mr. John Pestle, The Good Shepherd, Sahuarita, AZ

MCVC Members:

Church Name Representative Email Address
 
CENTRAL ARIZONA (CAZ)
Black Mountain UCC Nancy Ireland nancyireland01@cox.net
Church of the Beatitudes Mickey Hahnenkratt addiegh@aol.com
Church of the Palms Rev. James Clark jame_online@cox.net
Congregational Church of the Valley Janet Fotheringham irsoithink@gmail.com
Desert Garden UCC - -
Desert Heritage Anita Joy joyjoy57@cox.net
Desert Palm UCC Rev. Tom Martinez revtom@desertpalmucc.org
EFKAS - -
Encanto Community Church BJ Johnston wmnrider@gmail.com
First Congregational UCC/Phx Debe Knaack Debe2tw@cox.net
First Congregational Church/TEMPE Pat Quinnett patquinnett@yahoo.com
First Samoan Congregational Talosaga Seumanutafa talosagas51@gmail.com
Rebel & Divine Kelly Kahlstrom kellykahlstrom@cox.net
Ktizo UCC Betty Nelson nonelson@aol.com
Tempe Marshallese Ministry - -
Phoenix Marshallese Ministry Carter Hilai hilaicarter22@gmail.com
Scottsdale Congregational UCC Heather Monigan hmonigan@hotmail.com
Shadow Rock UCC Gordon Schneider gjschneider@prodigy.net
Shepherd of the Hills Laura Minnick laura.minnick@asu.edu
South Mountain Community Church Laurie Morrison lomosomo@gmail.com
Sun Lakes UCC - -
United Church of Sun City Susan Aurich aurichsusan@gmail.com
West Congregational Church Carol Gross cajegross@q.com
 
NORTHERN ARIZONA (NAZ)
Faith United Community Church Diane Thomas dsthomas18@ymail.com
First Congregational Church/FLAG Berta Glawischnig bglawischnig@yahoo.com
First Congregational UCC/Prescott Al Beeson aandbbeeson@msn.com
The Church of the Red Rocks Joan Scott JEScott@umich.edu
 
SOUTHERN ARIZONA (SAZ)
Casas Adobes Grace Bunker gracebunker@gmail.com
Church of the Painted Hills J. Ann Krinks jaykri19@gmail.com
Community Congregational Church Bill Bone rbone@cox.net
Good Shepherd U.C.C. - -
Oro Valley United Church - -
Rincon Congregational Church Rev. Inge Detweiler idetweiler@hotmail.com
Sierra Vista Community U.C.C. - -
Tucson Marshallese Ministry - -
United Churches Fellowship Rev. Larkin Rossiter larkinattheriver@hotmail.com
Yuma UCC Doug Jennings doug_jennings2005@yahoo.com
 
NORTHERN NEW MEXICO (NNM)
Church of the Good Shepherd UCC Donna Lockridge lockridgedonna@gmail.com
First Congregational Church/ALB Mary Browne revmtb.browne2@gmail.com
Iglesia Congregacional Unida - -
St. Paul's United Church of Christ Anita Curtis anitaabq@yahoo.com
United Church of Angel Fire - -
United Church of Los Alamos - -
United Church of Santa Fe - -
 
SOUTHERN NEW MEXICO/EL PASO (SNMEP)
Revolution UCC Elda Medrano medranoelda@gmail.com
First Christian Church UCC/DOC - -
Iglesia Congregacional la Trinidad - -
Silver City UCC Wendy Spurgeon breakthroughshadow@gmail.com
Peace UCC Nora Roberts nora_roberts@att.net
Beatitudes Campus Nancy Splain nsplain@beatitudescampus.org
 
STAFF
Southwest Conference Office Bill Lyons
Southwest Conference Office Sheri Slaybaugh
Southwest Conference Office Eli Johnson
 

REV.2017.06.20