Southwest Conference Committees and General Synod Delegates


Committee on Church and Ministry

Committee members deliberate and authorize ministerial and church standing according to the policies and practices of the Southwest Conference and the United Church of Christ. The committee meets 8 or 9 times a year. Members give leadership to ordinations, installations and ecclesiastical councils, are able to maintain confidentiality, have a self-awareness around what is believed about the nature of church and of ministry, a capacity to assess persons’ fitness for ministry and make clear decisions, sometimes in a very difficult situation. Term of office: 3 years

Section A:

Class of 2020
Rev. David Buss, Rincon Congregational UCC, Tucson, AZ
Rev. Gail Joralemon, First Congregational Church, Albuquerque, NM
Rev. Jay Wilcher, First Congregational, Prescott, AZ
Christine Sternberg, Casas Adobes Congregational UCC, Tucson, AZ

Class of 2021
Rev. Brady Abel, United Church of Sun City, Sun City, AZ
Rev. Jim Alexander, Church of the Palms, Sun City
Rev. Derrick Elliott, Casas Adobes, Tucson, AZ
Rev. Lynn Brightman, Peace UCC, El Paso, TX

Class of 2022
Martha Phillips, First Congregational, Albuquerque, NM
Lorraine Young, First Congregational, Flagstaff, AZ
Mary Martin, Good Shepherd, Sahuarita, AZ

Section B:

Class of 2019
Joyce Schneider, Shadow Rock UCC, Phoenix, AZ
Brendan Mahoney, First Congregational UCC, Phoenix, AZ
*Harry Strong, First Congregational, Prescott, AZ

Class of 2020
Nora Roberts, Peace UCC, El Paso, TX

Class of 2021
Elizabeth Wright, The Good Shepherd, Sahuarita, AZ
Rev. Jim Cunningham, First Church, Phoenix, AZ
Natalie Brummer, First Congregational, Prescott, AZ


Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee members make all nominations for Officers and other elected persons. They should represent the diversity of the Conference; have a clear knowledge of Conference and local church members, the ability to maintain confidentiality, to evaluate people fairly, to articulate the nature of tasks to prospective nominees and to encourage them to be involved. Term of office: 2 years

Tina Campbell, Church of the Palms, Sun City, AZ
Rev. Jim Meadows, Shepherd of the Hills, Phoenix, AZ
Stanley Roberts, Peace UCC, El Paso

Patti Lantrip, First Congregational, Prescott, AZ
Rev. John Angiulo, Casas Adobes Congregational, Tucson, AZ
Julie Parmenter, Taos UCC, Taos, NM

Personnel Committee

The committee members are responsible for the maintenance and administration of the personnel policies, ensuring that the employment, supervision, development, recognition and separation of all Conference employees are fair, uniform and consistent with policy. Members are responsible for the biennial evaluation of the Conference Minister, must be able to maintain confidentiality and to interpret policies and guidelines as they apply to staff. Term of office: 3 years

Ron Schilling, Scottsdale Congregational UCC, Scottsdale, AZ

Janet Leung, First Congregational, Flagstaff, AZ
Rev. Randy Mayer, The Good Shepherd, Sahuarita, AZ

Charity Gleason-Davis, Church of the Beatitudes, Phoenix, AZ


General Synod Delegates

Delegates attend two biennial meetings of the United Church of Christ General Synod over four years. They should be very active in their local church and have demonstrated a genuine interest in the life and work of the wider church (conference and beyond), must be able to handle complex issues and be willing to interpret what happens at the Synod to various settings in the Conference.

Scott Rowe, Shadow Rock UCC, Phoenix, AZ
Rev. Pamela Shepherd, United Church of Santa Fe, Santa Fe, NM

Carson Hawks, First Church UCC, Phoenix, AZ
Cydne Bolton, Rincon Congregational Tucson, AZ
Rev. Nathan Watts, First Congregational, Flagstaff, AZ


Endowment Committee

Rev. George Ault, Church of the Red Rocks, Sedona, AZ

Holly Herman, Desert Palm, CC Tempe

Rev. Gloria Smith, Encanto Community Church, Phoenix
Scott Greenwood, Community Church of the Valley, Scottsdale


NAZ: Northern Arizona
CAZ: Central Arizona
SAZ: Southern Arizona
NNM: Northern New Mexico
SNM/EP: Southern New Mexico and El Paso, Texas